Peanut Butter Brownies

I have a confession to make. Well two actually. The first is that I love peanut butter. The second is that on days where the weather is grim outside, I manage to justify to myself to have ridiculously rich treats with a cup of coffee instead of having normal food for lunch. From going outside, the weather appears to be sufficiently horrid for me to make my peanut butter brownies. Actually, that is a bit of a lie, it’s not that bad I just have a hankering for brownies. I hope melbourne gets into warm weather  by the time I start at the Press Club in October, or I think I may return to Adelaide in three months several pant sizes larger than I left.

It’s hard to say how long to cook the brownies for as it depends so much on your oven and the size of the tin you use. The best way to check is pull it out after 25 minutes or so and wobble the tin. You should see the outside is set and the inside is still liquid and wobbles. You want to cook it until the wobble is almost gone in the middle, as the brownies will continue to cook after you take them out of the oven.

I once got confused between the container of self-raising and plain flour at my house and made brownies with self-raising. Please don’t make the same mistake I did. They were horrible, cakey brownies that I wouldn’t have fed to a hungry dog.

Peanut Butter Brownies:

Ingredients:

180g butter, chopped

250g dark chocolate, chopped

120g smooth peanut butter

400g brown sugar

4 eggs, beaten together lightly

300g plain flour

250g salted peanuts, chopped

Method:

Preheat oven to 170C fan-forced. Line a square tin with baking paper. Sift flour, combine with peanuts.

In a large bowl over a bain-marie, melt together butter, chocolate and peanut butter. Add brown sugar and stir until dissolved.

 Remove bowl from bain-marie, add eggs and stir to combine. Fold in flour and peanuts. Pour into the lined baking tin and bake for around 40 minutes (depending on the size of your tin) then allow to cool for 30 minutes. Turn out and cut into squares

While brownies are baking, check no one is looking and eat whatever mix remains in the bowl (I’m licking a spatula while I’m writing this) NOTE: this is not an optional part of the recipe. If you don’t do this, I will know.

Make yourself a delicious hot beverage (coffee for me) and eat with the brownies after letting them cool for a while

I would love to hear if any of you have a recipe or guilty food pleasure like I do?

32 responses to this post.

  1. Don’t worry, I do the same on rainy days too!
    I love chocolate and peanut butter together. I used to spread peanut butter and nutella on 1 piece of toast… mmm

    Reply

    • Nice to know I’m not the only one! I will have to give that a try

      Reply

    • Mmmmm, I just made my first ever batch of brownies & you just about needed a straw to devour them!! The girls at Mum’s group loved them though. For a quick indulgence to enjoy with a cuppa try: Milk Arrowroot biscuits, topped with peanut butter (my personal fav is extra crunchie) & mild chocolate melts on top!!!!

      Reply

  2. Ridonkulous. Nice one mate

    Reply

  3. Posted by Christine on September 1, 2010 at 2:17 am

    Great looking brownies! All the best for your stint at the Press Club!

    Reply

  4. I’m liking the sound of those brownies. I’ve come to discover that peanut butter confectionery (all kinds, but especially cookies) should not be shared with others. They should be kept to oneself and hidden at all other times.

    Not bad weather, but rather when everyone else is sleeping – that’s the best time to raid the cupboards.

    Advice: don’t have coffee past 11:00pm if you intend to sleep that night. Trust me…

    Reply

  5. Posted by Lotte on September 1, 2010 at 3:21 am

    Mmm… Its cold and rainy at the moment! These brownies might become my new comfort food!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Bonnie on September 1, 2010 at 3:27 am

    “While brownies are baking, check no one is looking and eat whatever mix remains in the bowl (I’m licking a spatula while I’m writing this) NOTE: this is not an optional part of the recipe. If you don’t do this, I will know.”

    Haha, you’re so cute (:

    Reply

  7. I agree with Bonnie with regards to eating the raw mix. Awesome stuff…

    Also like the comment on cooking times with regards to softness in the middle. Americans seem to understand this and have an innate inbuilt understand of how to cook brownies well. It is so disappointing to get brownies that are hard all the way through and I appreciate you addressing this issue.

    Like the blog. Its coming along really well and wish you all the best. Looking forward to hearing (and reading) many more stories.

    Regards,

    G

    Reply

  8. Wow, that looks yummy! I have a guilty yummy winter’s day/night goody, and it’s a 5 minute chocolate cake. Basically, you mix a tiny chocolate cake mixture in a large drinking mug and put it in the microwave for 5 minutes. Fill any remaining space in the cup with icecream and serve with a spoon and a good book beside the fire. =D Probably not very gourmet, but it’s yummy! =D

    Reply

  9. Posted by 3Jane on September 1, 2010 at 6:31 am

    As a kindy mum, anything containing peanut butter is off the cooking list for the next ten years or so. I would love to make chocolate spiders (chocolate, peanut butter and fried noodles) but they also contain nuts which are banned just about everywhere. I haven’t yet found a substitute that lives up to them.

    Iron Chef Shellie, peanut butter and Nutella on toast, I like the sound of that! I do peanut butter and berry jam, or peanut butter and jelly (as in quince or apple or something).

    Reply

  10. OH CALLUM, you are a godsend!
    I now have the recipe for the treats me and my friends will have after lunch!
    Thank you!

    Reply

  11. Mmmm brownies. I never did like brownies growing up, until I found the perfect way to bake them to that amazing consistency.
    I’m a huge lover of savoury food, so while a brownie is great, I go nuts for a salty hit! My comfort food is a broccoli and cheese soup. It’s INCREDIBLY cheesey and bad for you, but there’s nothing quite like it on a cold, Wintery night with a chunk of decent garlic bread on the side… Mmmm…

    Reply

  12. Chocolate and peanut butter is one of my favourite combos too. I started out hooked on Reese’s peanut butter cups while studying in the US (and returned home ~5kg heavier, just as you fear Melbourne might do to you!) but have since found that home made versions are better still. I started out making this recipe but then found that this slice is nearly as delicious and dangerously quick to make. 😀

    Reply

  13. Posted by Trish on September 2, 2010 at 9:05 am

    Omg! I eat peanut butter by the jar full (even more while pregnant). Can’t wait to try this recipe. Thanks Callum!

    Reply

  14. Posted by Tayla on September 2, 2010 at 9:53 am

    These brownies look awesome! My sister makes brownies all the time but I don’t think they ever look as good as those.
    my comfort food in bad weather? Coffee with one of my nans peanut choc chip cookies or some banana bread

    Reply

  15. Ah that looks deliscious! I actually had a brownie today its one of my favourite sweet treats. I also cannot resist sticking date pudding.

    Reply

  16. Posted by Nicola on September 3, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    Ohhhhey! Callum first you should know I have a massive lady boner for you. Rad blog.
    Secondly, Imma make me some of these babies as soon as I get home. About two months ago I realised I’d never made a brownie in my life. Which is weird cos like… I’m a brownie connoisseur. Go figure. Anyway, my maiden brownie voyage was intense and amazing though – I found a basic dark chocolate brownie recipe and added some orange juice/zest and served with cointreau soaked orange segments. I thought I’d made enough to last me a week, but they only lasted two nights. And it wasn’t even raining.
    xx Nicola
    nicola-moore.blogspot.com

    Reply

  17. Oh no, these sound gorgeous but i’m allergic to peanut butter! I was naughty today and ate some satay and ended up with a massive headache, and I look at your blog and now you post this! The world is trying to kill me today…

    Reply

  18. Those brownies look so moriesh. Definitely would work a treat with other nuts as well or even with some caramel mmmm…

    Reply

  19. Hello from Seoul! My husband and I just finished watching the Grand Finale last night. We don’t get Australian programming so easily over here but we have both been keeping away from as much of Oz press as possible and anything related to Masterchef on the internet but it’s been hard! Well done on the fabulous dishes you put up. I can’t wait to try something you’ve made in the near future. You are very talented. As for the brownies, I have been looking for a really good recipe for brownies as the last two didn’t turn out so good. I thought my tooth would come out with the last one which was a Salted Caramel Brownie. I will have to try this soon.

    Reply

  20. Posted by Xxahin on October 1, 2010 at 8:10 am

    Hey Callum! I’m a big fan of you. I’m ten but I’m going to try out this recipe RIGHT NOW! Thanks! I love to cook and people like you and Matthew inspire me 🙂

    Reply

  21. Posted by Charlotte on October 20, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    Chocolate Brownies are my vice, whenever its a rainy day, or a day with no plans, I make brownies. For a special treat I sometimes chop up some snickers or cherry ripe in the mix. So good, and never let a bowl go unlicked!!!

    Reply

  22. Posted by apostrophegirl on November 7, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    Oh my… those are my new favourite brownies, definitely. Loved them.

    Reply

  23. Posted by Sabrina Sultana on November 8, 2010 at 10:02 am

    I just ‘Love’ this recipe. And I’ve also told my mom to bake these brownies for me, and it looks ‘totally delicious’!
    Yam! I do love peanut-butter a lot!

    Reply

  24. Posted by Aankhi on November 9, 2010 at 7:59 am

    Is there a substitute for brown sugar that I could use?

    Reply

  25. Posted by Subarna on November 11, 2010 at 7:44 am

    Yumm I’m gonna try this out 😀
    ❤ Callum 😀

    Reply

  26. Posted by subzz on November 11, 2010 at 8:02 am

    Yumm I’m gonna try this out!:D
    ❤ you Callum! 😀

    Reply

  27. I am a serious sugar junkie to the point of when trying to cut sugar out of my diet I dream about teramisu (spelling??).
    Love brownies was looking high and low for one with peanut butter in it so I’ll try this next time I’m baking.
    My guilty secret is a sticky date and pineapple pudding you put the left over pineapple juice in the sauce I could and do just drink it!!

    Reply

  28. Posted by Nusaiba on November 29, 2010 at 1:29 am

    wow!!! this is one cool recipe!! i guess I’ll have a go at it right after i come back from my exams tomorrow!! 😀 😀

    ps: i LOVEEEE cleaning off the mixing bowl of whatever brownie/cake mixture thats left!! (my mom doesn’t approve of it though…. so i just have to hide and get that bowl clean!!!! :p)

    thank youu for the recipe…. but can we use regular sugar instead of brown?? is brown sugar going to make it more rich and caramelly?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

