Gourmet weekend

I spent the weekend with the terrible job (with only a hint of sarcasm) of going to as many wineries in the Barossa Valley as I could, tasting the various wines and food on offer. This would be a rather long post if I were to go into everything I ate and drank, so I might just mention my favourites.

My favourite meal of the weekend had to be lamb on a spit which I had at a friend’s birthday after party. It had been cooking for seven hours, and I must admit I was dubious as to whether the meat would still be moist and tender, as quite a lot of fat seemed to drip of the meat as it turned. However, the meat was succulent, with a subtle rosemary and smokey flavour (rosemary was layed across the coals) and the skin gave pork crackling a run for its money. It certainly has given me some ideas for my twenty-first birthday coming up.

The William Randell Shiraz had to be my favourite over the weekend. Now, I’m not going to pretend I could smell dark chocolate and Christmas cake, or taste blackberries or mocha-oak, but it was delicious. I had it at a botique winery called Thorn Clarke, which I only went to because it is a stone’s throw from my girlfriends house. Needless to say it won’t be the last time I visit, and I’m sure I can justify a few more bottles while I’m there.

In general, Gourmet weekend had a fantastic atmosphere, with some very talented live bands, and a high standard of food and wine. My only complaint would be that a few of the wineries seemed to severly under-cater for the food, and were sold out of most of the menu items within a few hours, which I found difficult to explain to my hungry stomach. However, it is well worth a visit to this annual event, and I can’t wait until next year to do it all again.

15 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by greg tait on August 23, 2010 at 8:20 am

    YES the old 21st and either a lamb or pig on the usually home made spit , was a very common thing for your 21st out in the country where i live around 20 years ago, no one had the tallent that you have in cooking , but they were never dryed out and always moist and succulent.with potatoes wrapped in foil and chucked in the coals of the spit..

    All the best Callum for your 21st..
    Greg.

    Reply

  2. awesome looking feast of meat you have there. i love a good shiraz 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Tatiana on August 23, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    Hi Callum,

    as far as the food is concerned in the Barossa valley, I had the same experience when I went years ago with my husband. The meals were small and very ordinary in the wineries. I had hoped they would have evolved since then, but I guess it’s still the same.

    Maybe you can change their minds ? Or perhaps it’s just that they want people to focus on buying their wine mostly.

    I had lamb on the spit mainly at Easter because I have Greek relatives. I like it but when I cook for my family I cook it in the oven.

    Reply

  4. Hi Callum,

    Sorry you missed out, must be because the food was so good.

    Feedback from the Valley was that the NAB Barossa Gourmet Weekend was exceptional with amazing food, wine and music to keep everyone entertained. Even the kids were looked after.

    Pitty we missed you at Whistler Wines over the weekend, but look forward to seeing you back here again soon.

    Cheers
    Mel and the Whistler family

    P.S. Mum (Jayne) says G’day and thanks for the happy snap when you were last here.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Cindy on August 24, 2010 at 8:40 am

    Hi Callum,
    Just wondering if you and Adam are the special guests at the opening at Coles at Charlestown Square in Newcastle on the 27th August. If so what time will you both be there? I have just started a new job at Robins Kitchen (Kitchenware store) and would hate to miss out on seeing both of you if I am rostered on the same time you are both there. Thanks

    Cindy

    Reply

  6. callum sounds like a great weekend over there, but a shame on the food running out. Guess you’ll have to be back there to try another time. A quick question, do you have rss feed for your blog posts?
    thanks

    Reply

    • I wish I knew what an rss feed was and I might be able to help you out! Sorry, still quite new at this. Could you please help out a naive computer guy

      Reply

  7. Why was I not down for this! School boy error……………….. I want to spend every dollar that I have earnt when I come down. Degustation menus everywhere!

    Reply

  8. Posted by Alex on August 25, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    Love your honesty about the wine. Good wine tastes nice and is lovely to drink. No wanking over notes of honeysuckle high on the palate, thanks. Glad to hear this attitude from a Barossa lad! Tomorrow I’ll be in McLaren Vale for a work do, touring & tasting all day, looking forward to a chuckle at the tasting descriptors.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Alex on August 30, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    I actually can’t say, by region, I prefer to rate wineries individually. If I simply had to choose, I guess on balance I’d go Barossa for best region, because it’s hard to go wrong. But my favourite wineries are everywhere but the Barossa. Favourites are D’Arenberg & Wirra Wirra in McLaren Vale, Golding in the Hills, and Sevenhill in Clare is excellent. How about you?

    Reply

  10. Posted by Jude on February 12, 2011 at 12:29 pm

    Hey Callum,

    It’s my first time writing here. Actually here in our country – Philippines, we have something very similar. Instead of using lamb, we use pork and we stuff it with salt, pepper and lemongrass. We call it “lechon”. If you have any chance to visit the Philippines be sure to include it on your food tasting adventure. Love lots!

    Jude

    Reply

Leave a Reply

