The humble macaroon

I was lucky enough to spend a day watching Poh Ling Yeow film an episode of Poh’s kitchen. She was filming with a pastry chef friend of hers, Emmanuel Mollois, who not only knows his way around a shortcrust but also has awesome Fergus Henderson style glasses.  Emmanuel brought in this box of macaroons to share with us, I probably ate enough to give my dentist a heart attack, but totally worth it. Thanks for all the macaroon related requests, you can see my recipe at

http://www.masterchef.com.au/violet-macaroons-with-raspberries-and-butter-cream.htm

(Thanks Sefie) but I’ll post some other flavour combinations and whatnot in the near future or try to help anyone who is having problems with them. More from my time with Poh soon.

22 responses to this post.

  1. No probs 🙂 It’s embarassing how many times I’ve read that recipe. It says “flavouring to taste”, for me that’s about 1/2 tsp of whatever extract. I suppose it depends on exactly what you’re using to flavour, though.

    I’ve done vanilla with coffee cream cheese filling, and mint with dark chocolate ganache (from Gary’s opera cake recipe). The next ones I’m thinking of are double cherry (cherry with cherry jam filling) and chocolate with orange/Gran Marnier filling. I’m looking forward to what you and other people think of!

    Reply

  2. That is awesome! Those look really good. Guess I’ll have to try making some sometime. (uh oh)

    Oh, by the way, isn’t it spelt ‘macarOn’? I think it is. There bit a bit of a debacle while the show was airing on which way to spell it, I believe this type is spelt with only one ‘o’. Haha.

    (See –> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Macaron)

    Reply

  3. already gave those amazing macaroons a go!
    let’s just say that I need a bit more practice aha.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Ben on August 3, 2010 at 4:07 am

    That is awesome! Those look really good. Guess I’ll have to try making some sometime. (uh oh)

    Oh, by the way, isn’t it spelt ‘macarOn’? I think it is. There bit a bit of a debacle while the show was airing on which way to spell it, I believe this type is spelt with only one ‘o’. Haha.

    (See –> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Macaron)

    Reply

  5. Posted by Gabby on August 3, 2010 at 4:47 am

    Those macarons look fantastic and don’t worry Callum, I’ve ate and done even worse things that probably made my dentist run in the opposite direction. Now I must stop procrastinating and go back to studying my HSC – why does your blog have to be so damn cool?

    Reply

  6. Posted by Iris on August 3, 2010 at 5:01 am

    I am so happy to talk to you in the uni.
    Forget to tell you that I really like the disserts which you made in the Masterchef.
    Hope you can publish your cooking book, and I will definitely buy it. : )

    Reply

  7. Posted by greg tait on August 3, 2010 at 5:28 am

    They look scrumptious, were they as good as yours .??
    and might we be seeing you on an episode of poh’s kitchen.?

    Reply

  8. Posted by Jannette on August 3, 2010 at 7:22 am

    I tried your macaron recipe at home and it was a hit! Congratulations btw (I know I’m a bit late!). I’m loving reading your little adventures here, I hope you keep it up.

    Reply

  9. Posted by trissalicious on August 3, 2010 at 8:49 am

    Welcome Callum – I still remember the macarons you made on masterchef – they were a stand out compared to the other creations that day!

    Reply

  10. Posted by trissalicious on August 3, 2010 at 8:50 am

    By the way – is it macaroon or macaron? 🙂

    Reply

  11. Posted by Jenny on August 3, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    Holy jesus those macaroons would have taken days to make. And I agree, I would have definitely not stopped at one macaroon. Maybe one of each flavour might have been more appropriate : )

    Reply

  12. oh wow! look at those red ones!! i love the color of that red!! and i love emmanuelle too! he is hillarious and he really knows his pastries! he inspired me to make my own brioche!! 🙂

    Reply

  13. Your macarons on the show were always perfect! I was sooo impressed!! That box of macarons looks so pretty and colourful!

    Reply

  14. Posted by Julia on August 10, 2010 at 8:29 am

    Hi Callum,

    I’m attempting to make your Violet Macaroons with Raspberries & Butter Cream this weekend. Just skimming through the recipe, if you don’t have an electric mixer, can you use an electric beater, or is it better to hand whisk? Also, with the raspberry puree, can you buy raspberry puree or do you need to make it, if so how?

    Julia

    Reply

    • Hi Julia. I would suggest using electric beaters, or you may end up with a rather tired arm, as once you have gradually rained all the sugar into the eggwhites you want to whisk it for quite some time to achieve really stiff peaks. If your electric beaters have a whisk attatchment, i would use that. It will be fine without though. One of the things that the recipe doesn’t make very clear is that after you fold together the merengue with the almond meal and icing sugar, you actually want to knock out some of the air (which seems anti-intuitive for anything eggwhite related), or you will have peaks on top of the macaroon and they wont be as soft and chewy. To test, pipe out a couple of macaroons. If they have a massive peak on top, take the mixture out and beat it a little longer. You can also gently tap underneath the tray to try and level them out.

      For the raspberry puree, you can buy it from stores like Simon Johnson and other specialty shops, but it is quite easy to make yourself. Just puree raspberries in a food processor, then pass through a fine sieve using a ladel to push the pulp through. As raspberries are expensive, you can actually use frozen raspberries, defrosted and achieve the same result, as the frozen berries are far cheaper.

      Let me know how they turn out

      Reply

  15. I watched the same episode of Poh’s kitchen and reviewed your Macaron recipe – but my macarons have ended in disaster. They start out rising in the oven but then seem to collapse – I have no idea what’s going on. 😦

    I am determined to tackle this macaron dilemma – thanks for the tips!!

    Reply

  16. Posted by toddles on August 16, 2010 at 6:51 pm

    WOW! those look just great! and so do you….

    Reply

  17. Posted by toddles on August 16, 2010 at 6:51 pm

    YUMMY (talking about u)8uyy

    Reply

  18. Posted by +pidd on August 16, 2010 at 6:52 pm

    YUMMY (talking about u)8uyy

    Reply

  19. Posted by Ant Howell on October 7, 2010 at 10:41 am

    Hey Callum, how things mate long time since the top 50. Congrats on everything so far….Now tell me what im doing wrong with these Macrons. Skins form really well, a little to well so that they end up cracking and splitting down the middle. Guessing not knocking enough air out of the mixture and they are rising too much….thoughts? hope all is well. Ant

    Reply

    • Hey Ant thanks mate, how have you been?
      Cracking macarons shells can be caused by a couple of things. Firstly, under mixing as you suggested. Secondly, if your oven is too hot they can crack, or if you have a fan forced oven and the fan speed is too high. Hope this is of some help mate

      Cal

      Reply

  20. Posted by Ant Howell on October 8, 2010 at 5:44 am

    hey mate, thanks for the tips was thinking the oven could be a problem will give it a go again and let you know. Im well mate. living in amsterdam at the moment but will be coming home to sydney in a few months to finally get back to work. Have to catch up for a beer sometime. Ant

    Reply

Leave a Reply

